Mixed Monday: Delightful

I’m afraid I’m treat-free for this week’s Mixed Monday, but maybe that’s for the best. There are lots of beautiful trees in bloom in Central Park, but my expedition yesterday didn’t produce particularly good photos, so I don’t have any to share. Below, you’ll find a few things that always put me in a good mood (and may or may not have me using the word “delightful” multiple times).
The Song

A guaranteed-to-get-stuck-in-your-head update of Jona Lewie’s ’80s hit “You’ll Always Find Me in the Kitchen at Parties” by UK duo Man Like Me. Be sure to also check out the video Man Like Me and Lewie did for IKEA!

The Video

I had the pleasure of seeing The Nature Theater of Oklahoma perform Poetics: A Ballet Brut three years ago at The Public Theater‘s Under the Radar Festival, and I still think about that production sometimes. I left the theater that night feeling a sense of joy and excitement, and all I wanted was to share it with everyone and then see it again. The video below only gives you a small idea of what Poetics is like, but 4 minutes is better than no minutes, so here you go!


The Recipe

I made these two years ago to bring to a holiday party. The snowstorm that night eventually prevented me from getting to said party, but these cookies were so good that I should really make them again. (Seriously, they’re really good!)

Orange-almond buttons from Lottie + Doof

The Photo

I think Edinburgh may be one of the prettiest cities I’ve visited. I went with my London program last fall for a couple days to visit the Scottish Parliament and attend a few lectures. We didn’t get too much time to explore, but we were lucky enough to have great weather during our trip, which certainly made picture-taking more enjoyable. The picture below was taken during the climb up the Scott Monument, which I made with one of my flatmates.


What’s Making Me Happy?

King Arthur Flour‘s catalogue (a very recent discovery)! It’s filled with baking-related tools you never knew existed (but are so clever!), like a muffin pan sponge, and bakeware that makes everything so much easier (but, okay, maybe less fun, too), like this scone pan.

All photos taken by Taking of Toast.

Leave a Reply

