Mixed Monday: Keeping Busy

I’m sorry for the lack of posting this past week. I’ve gathered a few ideas, but I haven’t been able to figure out how I want to share them. I do have one or two other posts already planned for this week, though, so that’s a start. I’m treat-free again this week, but that’s partly because I’m saving up for a post in a couple days. I also looked and looked and could not find a video to share, so I thought I’d make up for it by sharing two songs. Despite my two cups of coffee today, I’m still feeling tired; maybe it’s because I’ve had a lot to do over the past few days.

The Song, Part I

Adele puts her own spin on Cheryl Cole’s dance hit “Promise This” and once again makes me wonder, ‘How does she do it?”

The Song, Part II

Simply put, I have not been able to stop listening to this song from self-described “artist collective” NewVillager. See this article from The Guardian for more about the pair.

The Recipe

Brussels sprouts, as the recipe below notes, tend to be a major hit or a major miss for people. I tend to avoid them, but every so often, when they’re cooked just right, I take my chances. This recipe below sounds unusual and interesting enough to make them more of a hit (or, at least, less of a miss).

Roasted brussels sprouts with cranberry pistachio pesto from Steamy Kitchen.

The Photo

Not-yet-opened magnolia blossoms in Central Park last week.

What’s Making Me Happy?

All the theater I’ve been seeing recently! Last Thursday, I saw the terrific, heartbreaking Broadway production of The Normal Heart, followed by (the completely different) Catch Me If You Can on Friday. I was invited only a few days earlier by some family friends to see CMIYC, so it was an unexpected, but welcome, surprise. Not the best Broadway musical I’ve ever seen, but a fun show nonetheless. Later this week, I’m seeing War Horse, which I saw in London and have barely been able to stop talking about since.

Photo taken by Taking of Toast.

2 thoughts on “Mixed Monday: Keeping Busy

  1. I’d like to try those brussels sprouts. . . .

    I agree – Normal Heart was truly heartbreaking. I can’t wait to see War Horse – it sounds truly wonderful. Remind me to take tissues.

Leave a Reply

