Coffee and Tiles

Say what you will (or won’t) about “hip” coffee shops, they seem to be popping up across the country these days.  When I was in LA, my friend took me to Intelligentsia‘s Silver Lake location. Other than feeling overwhelmed by how uncool I felt in comparison to everyone else in there, I really liked the space, with the outdoor seating area and the beautiful blue tiling. I felt awkward taking photos inside, and I didn’t want to give away my true tourist identity. I did, however, manage one of the courtyard, where we sat eating a delicious cheddar corn muffin (me) and an excellent almond croissant (my friend). Seriously, it was so good that I went back a couple days later to get one for myself.

How cute is this illustration of the tiles (seen in the bottom photo) by Casey at K.I.D. Collective?

The Silver Lake location of Intelligentsia (which is based in Chicago) was designed by Barbara Bestor, and you can see more photos here.

Top photo by Taking of Toast, illustration by K.I.D. Collective, bottom photo by Best LA Neighborhoods

Leave a Reply

