The Cloisters

When I bought a ticket to the Efterklang concert at the Met back in September, I learned that the ticket covered free admission to either the Met or the Cloisters on the day of the concert. I hadn’t been to the Cloisters since middle school, at the latest, so I decided to make the trek to the upper tip of Manhattan that morning to explore the grounds and surrounding area.

When you spend most of your time commuting between home and work and run your errands in the more familiar areas, it can be a real treat to spend some time in an area you don’t know so well. There is a distinct (not to mention welcome) lack of tall buildings and crowdedness up in the area around the Cloisters. I walked through part of Fort Tryon Park to get to the museum, making sure to take lots of pictures along the way.

On my way home, I stopped off at the Conservatory Garden in Central Park, to which I’d been meaning to go back since the early spring. I’ll save those photos for an upcoming post.

All photos by Taking of Toast

5 thoughts on “The Cloisters

Leave a Reply

