Recently

I thought I’d share some recent photos from my non-adventures over the last few weeks. I try to bring my camera with me when I know I’ll be doing something special, but I think my phone does a pretty good job (occasionally, with some editing here and there) when I’m just walking around.

As I may have mentioned in an earlier post, we went to Bobo for brunch on New Year’s Day. I’ve never sat down there, but I do like the look of bar area on the first floor of the restaurant. Still hoping to one day have a meal on the terrace. A few days later, on one of my days off from work, I decided to attempt soufflé! For my very first try, it wasn’t too bad. I gather a successful soufflé has a small amount of luck involved. At least I didn’t open the oven door to check on it?

I think the photo on the left was taken on a surprisingly warm day following a cold snap. I decided to walk home across Central Park, and it turned out to be at just the right time for taking advantage of the late afternoon light. We went to Chelsea Market in mid-January, and I was happy surprised to see all the string lights still up.

I think we’ve already had more snow this year than we did all of last year. Snow in the city tends to stay white for about half a day, before it gets muddy. Later that day, I had to cut up some limes for a party, and I had to stop halfway through to observe to myself, “I always forget how pretty citrus fruits are!”

I may have discovered my new favorite chocolate chip cookie, from a coffee shop in midtown of all places. It’s conveniently located a few steps down from a relatively new dumpling restaurant (which has a tiny library, pictured below), so you can get justify the cookie with a real meal. ( … Not that I would judge anyone for just having the cookie, or just having half the cookie. I’m a BIG chocolate chip cookie fan, and I can’t ever finish this one in one sitting.)

As I suggested above, nothing too exciting these past few weeks, but that’s okay! January’s meant to be relaxing, isn’t it?

All photos by Taking of Toast, edited with VSCO CAM

4 thoughts on “Recently

Leave a Reply

