Back to Business

Business seems to always come in fits and starts. It’s that time of year at work where I feel (and am!) really busy. It’s been building slowly, and then we hit a certain point at which it just became “Busy, busy, busy!” But other than this past weekend, when I had lots to do — all of it voluntary and enjoyable — I realized that I’m not that busy in my free time. A co-worker asked me the other day what I’ve been up to outside of work, and I paused for a moment before saying, “You know what? Not much!” As I said, though, work’s busy, so that sort of spills out and just makes me feel exhausted and tired and lazy, not too keen to do much.

Speaking of this past weekend: A friend and I were at a birthday dinner (hers, not mine) in the West Village last Saturday night here, and I suggested we take a walk to get banoffee pie for dessert. We’d been seated at the restaurant between reservations and were running out of time, so I thought it best to get dessert elsewhere. I’ve also been wanting to try another slice of banoffee pie since I first tried it in London a couple years ago. Going to a restaurant just for dessert! I felt very adult (plus, I had coffee after dinner, at night, so that made me feel luxurious. For some reason, I associate “coffee with dessert” with luxury? I don’t know.)

On our walk, we came across this building, above. Shoko’s recent post (which I highly recommend) about “looking up” and appreciating what’s around you was running through my mind that evening, so I stopped to take a picture. Everyone talks about it, but wow, does the Village have some great buildings.

Photo by Taking of Toast, edited with the VSCO Cam app

2 thoughts on “Back to Business

  1. You know, I read that Shoko post as well, and ever since I’ve been reminding myself to look up at Chicago’s amazing gothic style architecture along the river downtown. I’m so familiar with the ground level view of my bus ride that an afternoon walk along the same street with a focus upwards looks completely different and much more majestic.

    What a lovely building.

Leave a Reply

